25 things you may not know about me

If you read my blog, you’ll know a lot about me, not because I’ve focused on myself very much, but because a writer’s character and personality always bleed through in their writing. But since it’s nice to know some details about the person behind the blog, here are 25 random things about Megan that you couldn’t know without me telling you:

  1. Profile picsI used to think all old people lived in England (because all my relatives lived there).
  2. I famously once stole some cheese and kept it in my cupboard, snacking on it till my mother found the sweating piece and I was exposed.
  3. I’m so afraid of snakes I can’t even bear to look at pictures of them.
  4. I have no cousins.
  5. As a kid I swore I’d never colour my hair. It’s been coloured 12 of the 13 years since I left school.
  6. I sucked my thumb for so long as a child that I have memories of it.
  7. I  almost never read sci-fi, fantasy or action novels, but I can’t get enough of them on the big screen.
  8. I used to get nightmares every single night when I was little, then my grandfather told me to pray about it and for years afterwards I never had a bad dream.
  9. I  studied Latin for two years.
  10. When I was a littlie I wanted to be an artist.
  11. I love to study the world map and memorise capitals, states, mountains, etc.
  12. Wild grasses are my favourite thing about the South African landscape.
  13. My ‘deserted island’ foods are Steers chips, pizza, nectarines and Nesquik.
  14. I took ice skating lessons for four years as a kid.
  15. I used to drink so much carrot juice my hands went noticeably orange for over a year.
  16. The oldest item on my bucket list is to see (and ideally hold) a baby giant panda, because I watched The Giant Panda Adventure as a kid.
  17. I used to be an avid collector, collecting thimbles, souvenir spoons, stationery, Swarovski crystals, ornaments, postcards, gemstone trees, posters, stickers, stamps and coins. Now I enjoy throwing things out.
  18. I’ve flown business/first class six times but I’ve never once paid for the upgrade.
  19. My favourite movie ever is Emma (with Gwyneth Paltrow). My favourite series ever is Blackadder.
  20. My favourite book is The Pilgrim’s Progress.
  21. The first time I ever scrambled eggs was age 31.
  22. I’ve been to every continent except South America – but it’s very much on the list.
  23. I have an intense desire to leap really high and far, like male ballerinas do.
  24. I broke my ankle in high school and was so paranoid about losing movement in it that it’s now more flexible than the other ankle.
  25. My favourite year of school was grade 7. I kept a journal that year, making an entry every single day.
Tags: , ,

2 responses to “25 things you may not know about me”

  1. Emma says :

    I love it! And I did not know that nectarines would be a desert island food for you!

Share your thoughts

