Megan’s UK diary: Summertime, and the living is easy at Newton-by-the-Sea

A poor woman from Manchester, on being taken to the seaside, is said to have expressed her delight on seeing for the first time something of which there was enough for everybody.

(Sir John Lubbock)

These are some photos from my visit to Newton-by-the-Sea in Northumberland.

View from up on the dunes:

IMG_2157

You know how folks in the West, when seeing an image of African children playing with a primitive ball on a dirt field or smiling over a slice of watermelon, are prone to say something like, ‘Ah, bless – see how happy they are with so little!’? I must say that travelling around the UK I find myself thinking things like, ‘Ah, look at them little British kiddies making the best of their cold, blustering summers to visit the beach!’

IMG_2162

A simple shot:

IMG_2141

I like the pattern of the water and the sand in this photo …

IMG_2182

In the photo below, it is as though someone thoughtfully placed this lifebuoy up on the hill expressly for the sake of photographers. It’s probably a clichéd pic in the opinion of experts, as it’s reminiscent of an emotional film finale where the fallen knight’s sword is stuck in the ground and the camera gives us a low-angle, sky-backdrop view, so that our hearts might soar to transcendent heights … , but I lapped it up with the freedom of the novice:

IMG_2190

Here we have a sparrow. I asked him to show me his right side …

IMG_2116

… and then I asked him to show me his left side. (He said he looks good from both sides.)

IMG_2131

This puts me in mind of these verses from Matthew 10:29-31:

Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? Yet not one of them will fall to the ground outside your Father’s care. And even the very hairs of your head are all numbered. So don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.

Ah, how romantic …

IMG_2193

… unless that’s his mother. I really can’t tell.

A view of Dunstanburgh Castle:

IMG_2204

More about Dunstanburgh in a future post.

~

For more ‘Megan’s UK diary’  posts, go to The green spaces of Sheffield and Jane Austen & Edinburgh Castle at night.

For other photography posts, go to Edinburgh shows off and Buttercup view from Stirling Castle.

For a history and photography post, go to Haddon Hall (the perfect mediaeval castle & location for Jane Eyre).

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Megan’s UK diary: Summertime, and the living is easy at Newton-by-the-Sea”

  1. Erin Willet says :

    My husband and I are at the beach this weekend as well! There’s something so tranquil about being near the water, don’t you think?

  2. Emma says :

    Oh wow!!!! Stunning, stunning, stunning!

  3. Michelle says :

    Oh Meags, You are so funny! I laughed and laughed. Come home. It looks cold there. We may not have sparrows here but we have plenty of other feathered friends 😉 I went cycling today and wished you were around. Miss you friend. I really like your pics. Beauty and humour combined. Its makes reading easy with all the captions.

    • Megan Abigail White says :

      Ah, thanks, Michelle 🙂 I miss you too, and SA. And you’re right – yesterday was ri-DIC-ulously cold, far colder than anything we get in Durbs in winter! I’ll be home soon 🙂 You take care till then!

Share your thoughts

