Patrolling the streets of this blog: The quest of a deranged cop

toonvectors-2654-460One of my jobs is editing and proof reading, and when operating in that role I have the excitable, obsessive tendencies of a crusading, steroid-popping policeman. When I sit down to edit, I am working off the grid – tasering spelling mistakes, eradicating typos, roughing up formatting evils, bombing inconsistencies, not to mention roundhouse-kicking indecent grammar and breaking the kneecaps of all other content-related bad asses.

So naturally I hate it when I hit that “Publish” button on a post, and then at some future date (often only seconds later) come across a devious typo or a word stoned out of its mind. It makes my patrol car come to a screeching stop, my coffee spills on my lap, and my mouthful of doughnut sticks in my throat.

But mostly I hate typos and their cronies because they steal the reader away from the content, rudely dragging him or her into the warehouse of linguistics, where they must endure the reality of clanking semantics swaying in the rafters, and have scar-faced goons from the wrong side of the shift button breathe heavily into their face. I work hard to maintain streets that encourage wanderers to contemplate the beauty of the green words on the trees, lose themselves in the lyricism carried in the wind, and relax into the encouraging warmth of the environment. A kidnapping detracts. Always.

So while cruising through yesterday’s avenue of thought (WWII, Socrates, Rwanda & personal boundaries) in an historic part of the local campus, what do I see but this sly malfeasant of a letter sidling up next to an innocent Private Eye:

“It do not consider it necessary or even helpful for me personally in my lifetime […].” What?! Hands up, you low-life, you stinking interloper of a ‘t’! I arrest you on the spot for trespassing on the property of Prof. Reader.

So this is my proposal to all my readers: I will be keeping an eye out for any typos or mistakes in my neighbourhood, but if any of you (citizen of the blog or tourist) should spot one and point it out to me first, then that person will receive the honour (?!) of having a ditty written either about them or with their name in it. I will make a post of it. Your fame will reach to all of my half dozen readers!!

I have no idea if I can write ditties on command (I’ve only ever written one ditty-ish thing that I can think of – Ode to a posy of flowers sitting on my desk), but should the occasion arise, I will do my best, and then we can all muse over the outcome.

So now that I’ve invited you to partner with me in my cop car, hopefully we’ll clean up the streets of Living my write life in no time, and we will all be able to take pleasant Sunday-type strolls anywhere we want, enjoying the peace of mind that comes from a world completely free of typographical thuggery.

~~~

A note: I am not inviting a traditionalist/prescriptivist scrutinising of my grammar – I don’t want to hear about sentences that start with a conjunction, etc. Sometimes artistic concerns must prevail. I am, however, inviting you to alert me to typos and mistakes because I want those to be as foreign to my streets as tanned legs are to a Scotsman.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Patrolling the streets of this blog: The quest of a deranged cop”

  1. Megan Abigail White says :

    I just found another cretin: “Solomon Ideas” clearly meant to be Solomon Islands. Eish!

  2. Simon Kelly says :

    Awesome Megs, I love the analogy. I have to confess that when it comes to spelling and grammar I can be a bit of a litter bug. But I’ll do my best to keep a sharp eye for any wandering misfits or loitering outcasts.

  3. Sean Smithson says :

    I’m a big fan of starting sentences with conjunctions too 😉 However… I think you may have omitted an ‘as’ in your ‘tiny bit about me’ section on the About page?

    “probably as much you would like”

    Sorry! Great blog though.

    Feel free to ‘grade’ mine if you like.
    Smithson

    • Megan Abigail White says :

      Thanks, Sean – well spotted! I feel I’m so thorough, and yet STILL the odd critter finds his way in there. As the first to spot a mistake, I shall post you a ditty – or something in that vein – sometime this week 🙂

      • Sean Smithson says :

        You’re welcome. Though I do feel slightly bad for pointing it out…

        You know, I’d never even heard of a ‘ditty’ until yesterday! Very much looking forward to it now. No pressure 😉

Share your thoughts

