How can I know if I am beautiful?

Last night’s American Idol finale was pretty awesome, right? For those that don’t know, the winner was Candice Glover, a 23-year-old girl from South Carolina with a big, special voice. For me the announcement of the winner and the emotional follow-up performance was a special TV moment, and I almost teared up as I watched Candice stand in the raining confetti and sing her heartfelt new song “I am beautiful”.

Part of what made this finale stand out from all the previous ones was quite simply the song she was singing – a song with beautiful, biblical words that must resonate with others as it did with me, because it’s all about Jesus and how HE sees me, and therefore how I should see myself.

So in answer to the question “How can I know if I am beautiful?”, here is the YouTube version of the song and also the lyrics below – it offers a simple but profound answer. I hope the words speak truth and freedom to your heart if you need it.

This is the song as she sang it the night before the finale.

I am beautiful

You say I sound silly when I laugh real loud
Talk about my day and you tune me out
You keep telling me lies to make things worse
But I don’t hear you
‘Cause I’m listening to his words

And he says I am beautiful
And when I fall
It don’t matter that I’m not perfect
I am beautiful
I’m not alone
And in his eyes I’m so worth it
I’m worth every tear
And every scar
And even when you say I’m not
He says I’m beautiful

You say I’ll never be good enough
Knock me down
Won’t help me up
And you always say the right thing to make me hurt
But I don’t hear you
‘Cause I’m listening to his words

And he says I am beautiful
And when I fall
It don’t matter that I’m not perfect
I am beautiful
I’m not alone
And in his eyes I’m so worth it
I’m worth every tear
And every scar
And even when you say I’m not
He says I’m beautiful

And I deserve better things
He says he understands
I got to do what’s right for me
And he says I am beautiful
And when I fall
It don’t matter that I’m not perfect
I am beautiful
I’m not alone
And in his eyes I’m so worth it
I’m worth every tear
And every scar
And even when you say I’m not
He says I’m beautiful

He says
He says
I’m beautiful
And I’m worth every tear
And every scar
And even when you say I’m not
He says I’m beautiful.

***

For more thoughts on this same issue, look at Bluebells or strelitzias? Both.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “How can I know if I am beautiful?”

  1. Fritz Fenske says :

    Hey, Megs. It’s certainly tragic when people look to the world for self-worth and approval. It gives people a false sense of purpose and meaning. You are 100% when you say that it is only what Jesus think of an individual, how He values and esteems someone, that matters ! God created people in His image, and therefore they are to be reminded of that fact.

Share your thoughts

